Department of Immunology
当前位置: 首页  English  School of Basic Medical Sciences  Department of Immunology

        Department of Immunology was established in 2012, based on the Immunology Teaching and Research Section set up in 1978. Professor Zheng Wufei, Professor Pan Jufen and Professor Yan Yanhua served as former directors. Professor Zheng Wufei was also the chief editor of the first edition of the “Medical Immunology” textbook for countrywide medical colleges and universities. The current director is Professor Yao Zhi. The Department of Immunology is one of the National "211 Project" Key Construction Disciplines, Tianjin Key disciplines, and a Key Laboratory of "Immune Microenvironment and Disease" supported by the Ministry of Education and a “Tianjin Key Laboratory of cellular and molecular immunology”. Meanwhile, Department of Immunology undertakes “Medical Immunology” course which is Tianjin Excellent course, and owns Doctoral Degree Program and Postdoctoral Research Station as well. There are 18 teachers and 4 supporting staffs, including 6 doctoral supervisors and 8 Master’s Supervisors. All the teachers hold Ph.D and eighty percent of the teachers have more than one year of study-abroad experience and have already established good collaborations with many overseas laboratories in famous Universities, including The University of Michigan, The University of Pittsburgh in USA and The University of Manitoba, The Hospital for Sick Children of University of Toronto in Canada and The University of Tampere in Finland etc.   Professor Yao Zhi, a Distinguished Professor of Tianjin, is also the chairman of Chinese Society of Microbiology and Immunology and executive director of International Union of Mycoplasmology. Currently there are many teachers who have been awarded the titles of National Millions of Talents Project, and New Century Talents supported Plan by Ministry of Education. Department of Immunology has built a strong team with rational age structure, educational structure, academic structure and professional rank structure. Since the 11th Five-Year Plan started, the team has undertaken 1 “973” preliminary project, 3 national “863” projects, 20 National Natural Science Funds and 27 Provincial projects with totally about 30 million RMB of accumulated scientific research funds. In the meantime, the team has published more than 80 SCI papers and has trained 30 Ph.D and more than 50 postgraduates.