Department of Anatomy and Histology
当前位置: 首页  English  School of Basic Medical Sciences  Department of Anatomy and Histology

        Department of Anatomy and Histology was founded in 2013 by Professor ZHANG Ping, first Chairman of the department. Its predecessor of Department of Anatomy and Department of Histology & Embryology were established in 1951 and 1953. Under the leadership of older generations, such as Professors CUI Zhitan and MA Zhongkui, and after 60 years of development the discipline is now the most respected key disciplines of Tianjin Medical University with doctorate degree authorized unit. Furthermore, "Human Anatomy" is one of the high quality courses in Tianjin, and both "Human Anatomy" and "Histology & Embryology" are high quality courses for the international students of medical university.
        Dr. Zhang was a postdoctoral fellow (2001-2006) and a faculty member (2006-2013) at Indiana University School of Medicine, which is the second largest medical school and is ranked among “The Top Medical School” in the USA. As a principle investigator and a co-investigator, Dr. Zhang obtained more than 8 million dollars of various competitive research funds from federal agencies including National Institutes of Health (NIH), Department of Defense (DOD), and National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Dr. Zhang has published more than 68 peer-reviewed papers and 32 conference articles (including 9 oral presentations) in international conferences. He has been serving as an editorial board member for multiple journals. Furthermore, he obtained 6 national and international patents.
        Currently, there are 39 faculty members in the department, including 6 professors and 11 associated professors. 14 hold doctor degree and 12 with Master’s degree. Among them, there are 4 doctoral supervisors and 7 Master instructors. In addition, one professor gets the title of Distinguished Teacher in Tianjin. In the past five years, the Department has trained 8 doctoral students and more than 20 Master’s degree students.
        Over the past five years, faculty members have presided 6 research projects funded by National Natural Science Foundation of China, 2 sub-topics of National 973 project, 4 provincial projects, and more than 10 university-bureau level funding. The cumulative funds are more than 3 million RMB Yuan. Faculty members have published more than 50 research papers, which include more than 20 SCI and EI indexed papers, and have won the third prize of Tianjin Science and Technology Progress Award. As chief editor, associated editor and editor, the faculty members have written more than 20 textbooks and monographs. The faculty members also undertake 10 projects of teaching reform, published more than 10 teaching papers, and obtained 1 item of university-level teaching achievement award.