Tianjin Medical University’s predecessor was Tianjin Medical College which was established in 1951. It was the first medical institution approved by the State Council after the founding of The People’s Republic of China. The first president of the university was Professor Xianyi Zhu, a renowned endocrinologist and medical educationist. In 1993 Tianjin Medical College and Tianjin Second Medical College were merged to form Tianjin Medical University, one of the national “211 Project” key universities in China. Currently, Professor Yongfeng Shang, a famous biochemist & molecular biologist and academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, is holding the post of the president of university.
        The university aims to develop into a preeminent research and education institution with medical science as the core and life science as the main support to develop the university into a multi-disciplinary medical university.
        The university staff is comprised of a large group of distinguished professors and scholars from home and abroad. There are 8683 teaching and administrative staff, including 8161 professionals. Among these professionals are 563 professors and 987 associate professors, of which there are an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, two academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, nine “Yangtze Scholar” visiting and special appointed professors, four “ National Thousand Talent Plan” professors, four winners of National Outstanding Young Scientist Foundation”, four candidates of National Million and Ten Million Talent Project in New Century of Ministry of Personnel, 14 Excellent Talent of New Century of Ministry of Education, 11 young and Middle aged Experts who have made outstanding contributions appointed by the Ministries of Personnel and Health, 164 experts who enjoy the Special allowance of State Council, 229 Supervisors of Ph.D Programs and 737 Supervisors of Master’s Degree Programs.
        There are 9697 full time medical students studying at the university, among them are 5353 undergraduates, 2845 Master’s degree Students, 434 Ph.D Students and 1062 international students.
        Tianjin Medical University is the second pilot medical university approved by the Chinese government for 8 years medical education after Peking Union Medical University and is among the first 15 pilot institutions to offer the seven-year medical program. They are clinical medicine (seven-year and five-year programs), Dentistry (seven and five years programs), Anesthesiology (five-year program), Medical Imaging (five-year program), Medical Laboratory (five-year program), Preventive Medicine (five-year program), Nursing (five-year program), Biomedical Engineering ( four-year program), Pharmacy (four-year program), Pharmaceutical Preparation (four-year program), Law of Science (four-year program), Optometry (four-year program), Sports Health and Rehabilitation (four-year program), Health Administration (four-year program), among them the nursing ,biomedical engineering and medical imaging are the first subjects which started in China.
        Currently the university has 5 post-Ph.D research stations, 37 Ph.D authorizing subjects and 68 Master’s degree authorizing subjects with 229 Ph.D. supervisors and 737 Master’s degree supervisors.
        The university has 5 national key subjects: clinical discipline of integration of traditional Chinese medicine and Western medicine; oncology; urological surgery; neurosurgery; and endocrine & metabolic diseases. There are 10 key construction subjects of “211 project”: clinical discipline of integration of traditional Chinese medicine and Western medicine, oncology, urological surgery, neurosurgery & neurology, endocrine & metabolic diseases, imaging & nuclear medicine, pathogen biology & immunology, pathology & pathophysiology, public health & preventive medicine and pharmacy. The university has 15 Tianjin key subjects. There are 13 Provincial and Ministerial key laboratories: the key laboratory of breast cancer prevention and care, Ministry of Education; the key laboratory of hormone and development, Ministry of Health; the key laboratory of immune micro-environment and disease, Ministry of Education; the key laboratory of variation of nerve injury and regeneration, Ministry of Education; Tianjin key laboratory of tumor prevention and cure; Tianjin key laboratory of basic medicine of urology; Tianjin key laboratory of cellular and molecular immunology; Tianjin laboratory of lung cancer metastasis and tumor micro-environment; Tianjin key laboratory of medical epigenetics; Tianjin key laboratory of crucial techniques of clinical medicines; Tianjin key laboratory of oncological immunity & biotherapy and Tianjin key laboratory of functional imaging as well as coordinated innovation center of epigenetics. We also have 13 research institutes at our university.
        Since the 15th Five-year Plan the university has undertaken 1886 national, ministerial and Tianjin research projects and obtained 245 awards, including 5 national science & technology awards, 10 first prizes and 63 second prizes of Ministerial and Tianjin science & technology awards.
        The clinical teaching base has 7 university hospitals, 15 non-directly affiliated hospitals and 9 teaching hospitals with more than 15.000 teaching beds. The university hospitals include Tianjin Medical University General Hospital, Tianjin Medical University Second Hospital, Tianjin Medical University Airport Hospital, Tianjin Medical University Cancer Hospital, Tianjin Medical University Dental Hospital, Tianjin Medical University Metabolic Diseases Hospital and Tianjin Medical University Eye Hospital. The General Hospital has won the title of national “One Hundred Best Hospital” and the Cancer Hospital is chosen to be a “National Model Unit in Moral Standards”. 13 clinical specialties of university hospitals have been selected as national key clinical construction projects.
         Academic exchange programs and cooperative relationships have been established with 73 universities from 17 countries and an “Advisory Committee of Foreign Experts” has been formed. There have been 108 honorary and visiting professorships awarded to the well-known foreign scientists and experts. We together carry out high level international cooperation of science and technology in basic and clinical medicine as well as biological medicine.
        Since the establishment of our university, we have educated over 40000 medical professionals at different levels. The university obtained the “excellent” appraisal for bachelor degree and seven-year Master’s degree education from Ministry of Education in 2002 and 2008.

16 Schools, 1 Department and 3 Branches

School of Basic Medicine
School of Pharmacy
School of Public Health
School of Nursing
School of Biomedical Engineering
School of Medical Imaging
School of Medical Laboratory
School of Medical Humanities
School of Medical English & Health Communication
The First Clinical School
The Second Clinical School
School of Oncology
School of Dentistry
School of Optometry & Ophthalmology
School of Continuation Education
International Medical School
Department of Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine
Branch of Social Sciences
Branch of Foreign Studies
Branch of Physical Education